Released March 23rd 2007


01. Lyre's Harmony
02. A Fair Trade
03. Unborn
04. Bloodline
05. Painted Eyes
06. Engelbert the Inchworm
07. Afraid to Fly
08. Dialogue
09. Departing Words
10. Doldrums
11. Land Of Confusion (bonus track on 2nd jewel case pressing)

Paul Adrian Villarreal – Vocals and Acoustic Guitar
Marcel Coenen – Guitars and Backing Vocals
Roel Vink – Bass Guitar
Rene Kroon – Keyboards and Backing Vocals
Roel Van Helden – Drums and Percussion

All music recorded at the Pit studio Weert by Hans Reinders, Marcel and Rene in the period of April – December 2006, except keyboards: Recorded at Rene’s home studio by himself.

Mixed by Marcel, Hans and Rene
Produced by: Marcel, Hans, Rene and Paul
Mastered by: Marcel & Hans
All music written by Sun Caged, except “Engelbert”, written by Sun Caged & Rob Van Der Loo.
All Lyrics by Paul Adrian Villarreal.
Artwork by: Jeroen Evers,



The Dutch progressive metal originals Sun Caged return with their massive second album "Artemisia" on 23 March 2007.

Artemisia is a metaphorical place. In some ways it’s akin to Neverland, and in other ways, its opposite. People we’ve lost and dreams’ we’ve let go find themselves here. There’s sadness about the place, and yet a warm glow as we stroll among memories of what might’ve been. The music paints the landscape, and the lyrics serve as our guide as we tour this place. The classical metaphors and allegories are stripped of their pretence and rejoined with their humanistic origins. Pain and loss are recurring themes, as is the never-ending quest for the understanding, strength and humility that living in the real world demands.

Since the debut the band have seen almost wholesale changes in personnel with only guitarist and band founder Marcel Coenen remaining from the debut. Yet the typical Sun Caged sound is still present, if anything even richer with even more different sounds and styles than heard on the debut. The new band members and Coenen have delved deep to deliver an album that acts on creative impulses, without limiting themselves to the standard bag of tricks often heard in the progressive genre. Artemisia delivers an album full of unstoppable vocal melody, virtuoso guitar work, odd time signatures and complex chord sequences all topped off with an ultra powerful production.